JAC Blog Hop – Spring Cleaning

spring cleaning suppliesEach month, some of the members of the Jewelry Artisans Community blog on the same topic.  No secret about today’s topic, it’s spring cleaning.

I don’t normally do spring cleaning as such, as I clean my studio whenever it either gets too messy to work, or I am stuck for inspiration, but this year the timing was perfect as I’m in the process of moving back into my home. I can’t tell you how much I’ve missed my little studio with it’s four windows and a skylight.  I’ve been working in a basement with one meager window and poor overhead lighting, so this is a blessing.

Since the house has been unoccupied for two years, there was plenty of cleaning to be done, mostly dusting (microfiber is my friend), but I’ve also wiped down all the shelves and tables with some Clorox just to be on the safe side.  You’d think it would be easy to just put all my stuff back where it was, but the thing is, in the time that I’ve been gone, I’ve changed.

I still have my giant bead collection, which goes on the shelf units hubby made for me.  If I space the shelves every two holes, my shoeboxes fit perfectly without wasting any space. (Plug for shoeboxes from the Container Store, they are sturdy and stand up to the weight of the beads.)

shelves 2

I’m not sure what is going to go on the lower shelf of each unit.  I originally intended to store my kiln on one of them, but I have decided not to pursue metal clay anymore, so I don’t think I need the kiln handy; it can go in the basement shop.

I have a long built-in desk that runs the width of the room.  Right now it is set up for working with polymer clay, because I needed to complete a project before my worktable was moved over, but I think I will reserve it for office work going forward.  Here is where my laptop will sit, and I’ll have my paperwork center there too.  I hope to leave a good-sized area of the desk free so I can do larger projects.

office desk

I’m debating regarding painting.  I’ve taken up art journaling and mixed media work as well as polymer clay.  I planned to do that in the downstairs workshop, but I really want to do it in the sunny room.  Maybe I’ll move that downstairs in the winter.  I have 3 Elfa carts filled with polymer clay and painting paraphernalia.  I’m not sure it will all fit in here.

Across from the shelves is my worktable.  You can see my tool rack on the left and the beginnings of my soldering station on the right.  I bought a revolving soldering pan, but I’m not exactly sure where it is at the moment. There are a ton of boxes in this house right now.  Normally my pasta machine is anchored at the right side of the worktable, but I need to make room for my enameling torch, so I might make this the “hot” side and make a clay space on the office desk where it is now.

worktable

Last is this corner.  Pay no attention to the chair, it is an antique from my husband’s side of the family, and is only in here to keep it safe from the moving hubbub.  My big lateral filing cabinet used to sit in this corner, but hubby has made a place for it in the adjacent mud room, so I have some extra space to play with.  I think I will put a comfy chair and a reading lamp there, for when I want to leaf through an art book for inspiration.  This will also be my video booth when I get around to making some videos.

corner with chair

As you can see, I still have quite a bit of sprucing up to do, but at least I can work in here now.

Read what other members of the JAC have to say about spring cleaning at these links:

The Crafty Chimp

Cat’s Wire

Jewelry Art by Dawn

 

 

2 Responses to JAC Blog Hop – Spring Cleaning

  1. Cat says:

    Wow. I think I’m going to need a nap now. That is organized! I’m deeply impressed 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a wonderful work space you have and your future plans for arranging it to suit your needs sound perfect!

    Like

Leave a Reply

