Star Frost – Andrew Thornton Challenge

I’m back with another entry in Andrew Thornton’s challenge series.  This one is appropriately called Star Frost, and the kit is made up of beautiful white, clear and blue beads.  And the mystery component is magnifique! Andrew really outdid himself this time.

As usual, I was long on ideas, but short on time (I really have to work on that for 2015), so I ended up making a simple strung necklace.  You know I can’t do anything the easy way, so I jazzed up the pendant a bit with some dangles.

I always like to show Andrew’s luxury bead blend, because it’s so pretty, but as it happens, I didn’t use it at all this time.  I’ll use it for something else later.  The kits always have much more than you can use in a single piece.  Besides being gorgeous, they are a good deal.

bead mix

And here is the necklace I made:

necklace

The mystery component this time was really awesome, so I have to show you a close-up.

Pendant close up copyThe blue microbeads sprinkled on it really make it sparkle.

Check out what other participants did with their kits at the links below.

Carolyn Lawson
Shai Williams
Karin Grosset Grange of Ginkgo et Coquelicot
Ann Schroeder
Tammy Bowman of Inner Muse Jewelry
Alison Herrington
Kari Asbury of Hippie Chick Jewelry Design
On Andrew Thornton’s blog:
Andrew Thornton, Cheryl Tucker, Mia Nutick, Joanne Goldberg, Lisa Mendum
16 Responses to Star Frost – Andrew Thornton Challenge

  1. beadlove says:

    I agree Andrew’s challenge kits are wonderful! Your necklace is beautiful. I love this frosty color palette.

    Like

    • beadsophisticate says:

      Thanks! I wanted to wear the necklace to work today, only to discover I don’t have any clothes that go with it. Now I’ll have to go shopping.

      Like

  2. karin says:

    Lovely necklace! I love the little dangles like extra snowflakes, and I have also a lot of beads I will use in later pieces!

    Like

  3. Kari Asbury says:

    Really lovely design! You sprinkled just the right amount of blue beads and the extra dangles on the pendant are perfect.

    Like

  4. beadsophisticate says:

    Thank you!

    Like

  5. Fabulous! I love the texture of the mix you used in the foundation of your necklace and I think that the added dangles really give the feel of falling snowflakes! Nicely done! And thank you so much for participating in the challenges! (And if you do make something with the extras, save it for the Catch Up Reveal at the end of February! Lots of folks will be sharing things they made with the kits that weren’t previously posted!)

    Like

  6. Shaiha says:

    Nothing simple about it! I always have issues with balance when I am trying to combine rectangular and round beads.

    Like

    • beadsophisticate says:

      Shaiha, I embraced asymmetry a long time ago, so now it’s second nature. In fact, on the rare occasions I want to make something symmetrical, I nearly always have a hard time with it.

      Like

  7. Alice says:

    I love the little beads you used on the necklace. So sweet.

    Like

  8. Wonderful necklace, I love the dangles! Great Job!

    Like

  9. Tammy Bowman says:

    I love the asymmetry in your necklace chain, it creates visual movement and light. The dangles on the poly clay pendant remind me of snowballs and fit the theme perfectly!

    Like

  10. I’m new to challenges and blog hops. This was really helpful. You do lovely work.

    Like

  11. Louise says:

    Wow your art work is just beautiful and I love your blog page. Now that purple garden set is just outstanding and I can not wait to see more of your gift. ~Louise

    Like

Leave a Reply

