Blog Carnival – Natural Inspiration

Each month, some of the members of the Jewelry Artisans Network blog on the same topic.  This month’s topic was pretty general; we were given the theme of Nature to blog about.

This is a stretch for me.  I know many jewelry artists draw their inspiration directly from nature, seeing forms and shapes that work for them.  Others are more direct, using flowers, animals and birds as motifs. I have never done this.

Over the last year or so, though, I have started taking more of a conscious interest in the world around me.  I have long carried a camera in my handbag, mainly so I could snap pictures of my children and friends when the occasion arose.  Lately, though, I have been taking pictures of interesting flowers, birds and things like that.

Last fall, I snapped this picture of a bird that was hanging out in our backyard.Image

Then last month, I was waiting to pick up my parents, and noticed this tree.

Image

Notice the frost under the bird, and the frothy lace of the foliage?  Simultaneously, I have been following the progress of Kate McKinnon’s new book on beadweaving, Geometrics, which has reinvigorated my interest in beadweaving.  I am familar with a number of the stitches, but have never really done a lot with them, because of the time involved.

But now I find myself wondering if I could recreate some of the drama of these natural forms in seed beads.  I’m not sure where this is going to take me, but I’m looking forward to the trip.

Check out what other members of the Network have to say on this topic below:

www.islandgirlsinsights.blogspot.com

http://www.artfire.com/ext/shop/blog_pos….rnival_-_nature

4 Responses to Blog Carnival – Natural Inspiration

  1. WIll have to check out the book you mention… Love the picture of the stellar Jay! We have Blue Jays were I live but I don’t think they are as pretty as stellar Jays!

    Like

  2. I too have started to have more interest in the natural world. I think having a great cell phone camera helps, really. It’s so easy to snap off shots on the go with them. I love the blue jay picture. Aren’t they so pretty!?

    Like

  3. Nature is awesome and your nature photos are great! I’m glad you’re enjoying your nature discoveries and maybe we’ll see those influences in your future work.

    Those stellar jays are beautiful birds; we have them here too. They’re kind of aggressive towards other birds, but we have resident ravens who make them mind their manners!

    Like

Leave a Reply

