Sad face :-(

Today is the end of an era.  My local bead shop, Theodora’s Beautiful Beads, closed its doors for good.  I made the penultimate purchase; the final purchase was made by the store manager.

I have been lending a hand at the store for over 10 years, first in its original location when Thea still owned it, and then where it is now when the current owner moved it when he merged it into his own store a few years ago.

Very mixed emotions.  On the one hand, I am sad that I won’t be able to just drop in and pick up some fabulous new Czech glass.  I also feel sad for our long-time customers; where will they go now?  On the other hand, there were so few of Thea’s occasional helpers left, that I found myself working two Saturdays a month, which on top of my already-demanding full-time job and volunteer commitments, drained my energy to the point that I wasn’t able to make much jewelry.

So, although I feel bereft, I am looking forward to tackling a number of projects, both professionally and personally, that I have not had the time to pursue in the last couple of years.

 

2 Responses to Sad face :-(

  1. I’m sorry to hear that. There were 3 (that i knew of after all kinds of searching) bead stores in my town when I started stringing back in Dec. ’08. Six months after I started, the biggest and best bead store closed their doors – that *really* bummed me out. Owners retired and didn’t sell the store to anyone. Around a year later, the 2nd best store closed and move a couple hours away… now there’s just one that I know of. I do a lot more online shopping now than I used to. So I understand a little bit of what you must be feeling. However, it sounds like you’ll finally have the time to get some projects started/finished that you really want to do now. Bittersweet, isn’t it?

    Like

    • beadsophisticate says:

      Exactly. I will have more time, but no more running in to pick up a few more of that bead to finish a project. Also, online isn’t as good – I find that it’s rarely quite what I thought it would be.

      Like

Leave a Reply

