Treasure Chest of Components

What beader wouldn’t get excited at the words “treasure chest”?  Put it together with components, and I was hooked.  I’m always looking for new bits and pieces to include in my jewelry, and this sounded simply delicious!

This is the second in a series of posts about Beadfest Philadelphia in August.  This post and the next will be about classes I took.

Debora Mauser, our teacher, is a lovely southern lady who wanted to make sure we got our money’s worth.  It so happened that there were no beginners in the class.  Now, don’t get excited.  I don’t have anything against beginners.  I used to be one myself.  All I’m saying is that allowed the class to move along at a pretty good clip, so Debora had time to demonstrate five or six more components than the promised ten.

And, oooh, the excitement.  Here’s a look at some of the components we learned to make.

Peacock bead, front and center

The peacock bead is Debora’s invention.  It involves several different techniques and as you can see, has a several different parts.  At the upper left is a bead embellished with the herringbone weave.

Egyptian coil and kuchi bead

At left, you can see an Egyptian coil with a bead.  We also learned a traditional Egyptian coil (not pictured), and at the very bottom of the picture, you can see my lame attempt at a kuchi bead.

Danish love knot

In the center of the picture below, observe my personal favorite of all the components we made.  I am just in love with the love knot, and can scarcely wait for my wire order to show up so I can make more of them.
I would like to show you the neck bars we made, but unfortunately, in my zeal to clean up my studio, I have mislaid the pieces, so I’m not able to take any photos at this time.  I’m sure I put the packet someplace really clever, and as soon as I get in touch with my brilliance, I’ll put the necklace together and show you.

This was an excellent class.  Debora demonstrated each step, and then had plenty of time to assist anyone who needed a bit of extra help.  She also made sure to walk around and check on everyone from time to time.

Debora has a great sense of humor and kept the class light-hearted.  She has perfected “the look”, which she uses on people (me) who are obsessing over ridiculous details.

We also got to ask questions about wire-working in general and to shop from her selection of tools.  I bought a coiling tool called Mister Twister which has more mandrels than the Coiling Gizmo and is portable.  Because after taking her class, I must have more coils!

Leave a Reply

