Love Actually – Jewelry Artisans Community Blog Hop

Each month some of the artisans of the Jewelry Artisans Community blog on the same topic. This month, we are talking about love.

The JAC hosts a monthly challenge, and this month’s challenge was to make a piece of Valentine’s Day jewelry that did not include the traditional red and pink colors. I thought I’d take a tip from that, and talk about the love of one’s friends, instead of what we usually think of for Valentine’s Day.

A number of years ago, I met a woman on a work assignment. She worked for my company but I’d not met her until I arrived at the client site. We hit it off immediately, found we had a mutual interest in crafts, and became craft fair buddies. I got her interested in beading and we went to Beadfest together. It was great.

I call her DB because at the firm we worked at, everyone was referred to by their initials. A few years ago, she told me that she was moving to Phoenix. I was so sad. We met for Beadfest the following year, and then the relationship dwindled into exchanging Christmas cards.

Then last fall I decided I would go to Tuscon for the bead shows. I called her to see if she was interested. I later realized it had been 8 years since she moved, and probably 7 since I’d seen her, but it didn’t seem like that long at all. What really hit me between the eyes, though, is that she told me that she had been seriously ill last year – and I never knew.

It is so easy to take it for granted that your friends will always be there when you want them.

We had a great time in Tucson, and have resolved that it will not be another seven years before we get together again.

Since this is a jewelry blog, I have to put in a picture of some jewelry. This piece is very simple, but I will treasure it as a reminder of my friend. We each made one at a make-and-take project at one of the booths at the Best Bead Show.

DB pendant

See what everyone else has to say here:

http://www.artfire.com/ext/shop/blog_post/JewelryArtByDawn/15559/love_is_in_the_air_-_february_blog_carnival
http://www.catswire.blogspot.de/2014/02/love.html
http://ponderthecat.blogspot.de/2014/02/love.html

2 Responses to Love Actually – Jewelry Artisans Community Blog Hop

  1. Cat says:

    Oh wow. What a wonderful and thoughtful post. You are right, too often we put things off. A call, a meeting, a coffee together.

    Like

  2. Dawn says:

    I’m so glad you reconnected with your friend and had the opportunity to catch up with each other. We do take things for granted and your post is a good reminder to us that we may not always get a second chance. Seize the moment!

    Like

Leave a comment